PaperMind begins.

Alright, now that I’ve established that I like to write and that a blog is the best way for me to express myself and my personal ideas, I would like to move on to something other than depression. Depression is a serious topic, and a serious problem, and it deserves a good amount of the limelight, but I’d like to be a blog that is more diverse, that explores anything that comes to mind, makes me happy, and deserves a 5 minute conversation and so forth. If I remember correctly I mentioned that I keep a notebook of thoughts, quotes, and other little things that make me happy. It’s something that I keep near me when I’m at work, and its available most of the time when I get home. I started it quite a while ago, though I don’t remember when, but it’s been significant in helping me find myself. It started as me rambling or recording thoughts to read later, and it has done its job, though I don’t think I’ve actually gone back and read anything I wrote. Because I want to change that, posting what I wrote and why I think I wrote it will help to better establish a personal understanding. Who know, I may help someone else with my thoughts as well.

The notebook is just that, a small insignificant notebook. The front is white and blue with some random written thoughts. The top left is branded with the word “Quill.com”, then it is named the bland name of “Steno Notebook”. The bottom left indicates that its pages are 6” x 9” Gregg ruled white sheets. It also states that it has 80 individual sheets within the notebook, which is easily doubled by using the back of the page, meaning that there are a potential of 160 pages and two covers to decorate with my thoughts. The final thing that was printed by the company that sells them is the Reorder number, which is SBNW1. Overall, the notebook is bland, cheap and honestly unexciting. In looking it over, and deciding what to put in it, I think it needs a name, and I have one that I have given it (as of this posting). From here on I shall refer to my notebook as PaperMind. To make it official, I wrote it on the top…so there…its name is PaperMind. It has no back story…it’s just a notebook.

All that being said, and now that I’ve described its branding marks, I’d like to move on to what I’ve written on the cover. The cover is one of the most important things about this notebook because it’s the first thing I see every time I pick it up. If I write something on the cover, it has to be something that I can read over and over and feel that it continues to hold its weight. My favorite thing about what I’ve written on the front is that they make me smile, or make me think. So…again 500 words in… Here’s what I have written on the cover, and what it all means to me.

  • “Respect yourself enough to walk away from anything that no longer serves you, grows you, or makes you happy.”2
    • Based on the source I posted, this quote is found all over the place. I don’t remember where I found it, but it struck me. It’s a strong quote that really helps you to look at where you are and where you should be. While “letting go” is not always something that can easily be done, it’s a strong quote and it tells the truth. If you let go of anything that doesn’t serve you in any way, grow you, or make you happy, you will be happier.
  • “Memento Mori. Carpe Diem.”3
    • Ah yes, the ever powerful Latin quotes. In looking at the quote, it appears I may have written it backwards but the meaning is the same. Memento Mori is essentially “Remember mortality.” It basically means ‘remember that you are mortal’. Mortality is a painful thought, but it helps. If you know that you have a time constraint, then you are less likely to waste that time. I think we all know what “Carpe Diem” means, but to those that don’t it means “Seize the day”, or essentially “live each day like it’s your last, make the most out of the day, etc, etc.”. So, all together, “Remember Mortality. Seize the day.”
  • “Don’t Exist. Live!”4
    • This is apparently the start to a quote by Brian Krans. Looking at the full quote, I actually like it more than just the first segment. Regardless, for the cover, this quote is a strong one. It’s not enough to exist, you have to live. Everyone exists, everyone is part of a messed up reality that you can’t change, but no one else can live your life. Don’t be a number, don’t be a statistic, don’t be a name, just be you, the person.
  • “Your life is historically meaningful, and spans a significant time.” 5 and 6
    • This is a segment of the song “Sorrow” by Bad Religion. I was actually listening to it this morning on my drive to work. It came on my stereo through the magical art of “shuffling” the songs on my music player. I was going to skip it initially, but I decided that it would be a nice morning song, Bad Religion has never steered me wrong. I listened to it 4 times on my way in. I didn’t realize how awesome this song was and it actually helped me to smile.
  • “We are the most aggressively inarticulate generation to come along since, ya know, a long time ago” & “Say what you believe in a manner that bespeaks the determination with which you believe it. Because, contrary to the wisdom of the bumper sticker, it is not enough these days to simply QUESTION AUTHORITY. You have to SPEAK with it, too” 7
    • These both come directly from one of my idols; Taylor Mali8 and his slam poem “Totally Like Whatever, You know?” 7 Taylor Mali, for anyone that doesn’t know who he is, is a slam poet and teacher. He has written some of the greatest poems that I have ever heard, and I HIGHLY recommend listening to some of the things he’s done.
  • “Every great story on the planet happened when someone decided not to give up, but kept going no matter what.” – Spryte Lorrano
    • This quote is a little generic, but I felt that it was good. It is a strong statement about not giving up and how not giving up can lead to having a great story to tell. That’s how I feel with this blog…with my book….with everything.

So there they are. These are what I’ve decided to put on the inside/outside cover of the PaperMind. They may mean nothing to you, but I love them and, honestly, they were strong enough to make a difference to me.

As a side note I’d like to recommend an awesome blog… http://www.365go.me . This is a daily blog made by a woman that used to work at the company that I currently work for. She retired and decided to take the time to find herself. She’s had some interesting stories to tell, she’s gone through hardships, but best of all, she’s just writing to figure out who she is. I wish I had the money to retire and do this too, but that’s not important. What is important is that I’m taking the time to find myself now in my own way…

No matter where you are, never forget where you came from. It’s these trials and hard times that formed the foundation on which you now walk.

-Lucas C.

  1. http://www.quill.com/white-steno-pads/cbs/001491.html?PromoCode=400400001
  2. http://morethansayings.blogspot.com/2012/06/respect-yourself-enough-to-walk-away.html
  3. http://webstandards.raquedan.com/?p=358
  4. https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/128536-don-t-exist-live-get-out-explore-thrive-challenge-authority-challenge
  5. http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/badreligion/slumber.html
  6. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YbFHwulwCvI
  7. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEBZkWkkdZA
  8. http://www.taylormali.com/

Leave a comment